Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees helps determine the educational goals of the school and ensures they are met for the benefit of each one of the students.

School Board of Trustees occupy a vital place in the education system. The Board selects and supports the school’s principal, teachers and other staff and helps them develop their skills and careers.

As part of its role, the Board ensures the school incorporates the cultures and values of our local community. At St Joseph’s the Board oversees how the school’s special character is fostered through the learning programmes and ethos of the school.


Garth Bray

Proprietors Representatives

  • Garth Bray
  • Anthony McBride
  • Rebekah McLeod
PrincipalSue Bennett


  • Sonia Fonua
  • Giles Jephcott
  • Steve Koppens
  • Ainsley Siegel

Elected Staff Trustee

Carol Trotter

St Joseph’s is fortunate to have had a succession of committed and enthusiastic Trustee Boards members, with the Board structured as follows:

  • Four members are elected by parents/caregivers for a three-year term.
  • Up to three members are appointed by the Bishop as the ‘Proprietors Representatives’.
  • The Principal is on the Board by right; and
  • The teachers annually elect one staff member as a trustee.

Each Board member has special responsibility for the school’s Special Character, especially the Bishop’s representatives. In this task, they can only be effective if they are fully supported by the wider community which they represent and this support is clearly evident at St Joseph’s. The Board meets regularly throughout the year and meetings are notified in the school newsletter.

All parents and caregivers are welcome to attend.

Please view or download the annual report of St Joseph’s Orakei.